There are Seven political parties represented in the Government of the Republic of Rwanda. 

They are:

  1. Front Patriotique Rwandais (FPR),
  2. Parti Social Démocrate (PSD),
  3. Parti Libéral (PL),
  4. Parti Démocrate Centriste (PDC)
  5. Parti Démocratique Idéal (PDI),
  6. Parti Socialiste Rwandais (PSR) and
  7. Union Démocratique du Peuple Rwandais (UDPR).

All regions, ethnic groups and religions are represented in the Government of Rwanda. Women are also represented at cabinet level, in parliament, the civil service and in local and regional government.

The executive arm of government is headed by the President. The President is the Head of State. He also heads the cabinet. The cabinet is the body of ministers responsible for the conduct of national affairs. Ministers are appointed by the President upon consultation with leaders of political parties in the Government of Rwanda.

Government departments or ministries are headed by Ministers. Some ministries also have Ministers of State, who are junior Ministers. The ministries are staffed by civil servants who are the main instrument for implementing government policy.